Wyoming Car Insurance
Car insurance in Wyoming is required by law. All drivers in the state must maintain the set minimum amount of liability coverage. Liability insurance will cover the medical and property damage cost for the other party if you are at fault for an accident. Wyoming requires this type of coverage to ensure financial protection for anyone who is not at fault for an accident. Since liability insurance will not cover your own expenses, you may want to consider choosing additional coverage, such as collision, uninsured motorist, and comprehensive coverage. These additional coverages are not required by law.
Required Coverages in Wyoming:
- Bodily Injury Liability Per Person: $25,000
- Bodily Injury Liability Per Accident: $50,000
- Property Damage Liability: $20,000
Law enforcement officers have the right to request proof of insurance at any time. If you are caught driving without auto insurance in Wyoming, you will be in violation of Wyoming state law. As a penalty, you may be fined up to $750, imprisoned for up to six months depending on the severity of the offense and the number of previous offenses you have.
Determining Your Rate in Wyoming
The cost of liability insurance in Wyoming is among the lowest in the nation, with an average of $317, according to the Insurance Information Institute. However, your rate may differ from the state average because auto insurance rates in Wyoming are decided based on a number of factors, such as driving record, location, age, sex, marital status, credit score, vehicle type, and vehicle use.
These factors are used by insurance companies in Wyoming to determine how much of a risk you are to insure. For example, you may be considered a high risk if you have several infractions on your driving record, are younger than 25, have a long daily commute, or if you have a low credit score. Generally, your rate will increase as your level of risk increases.