Oregon Car Insurance
Car insurance in Oregon is required by law. All drivers in the state must have liability, uninsured motorist, and personal injury protection coverage. Liability insurance will cover the expenses for the other party involved in an accident that you are at fault for. Uninsured motorist insurance will cover your expenses if you are involved in an accident and the at-fault party does not have insurance. Personal injury protection covers medical expenses resulting from an accident for you and your passengers, regardless of who was at fault for the accident. Oregon has established a required minimum amount of coverage for each of these.
Required Coverages in Oregon:
- Bodily Injury Liability Per Person: $25,000
- Bodily Injury Liability Per Accident: $50,000
- Property Damage Liability: $20,000
Uninsured Motorist Coverage:
- Bodily Injury Coverage Per Person: $25,000
- Bodily Injury Coverage Per Accident: $50,000
Personal Injury Protection Coverage:
- Bodily Injury Coverage: $15,000
Failure to meet the minimum requirements for auto insurance in Oregon is a violation of state law. Penalties can include fines, having your driver’s license suspended, and having your vehicle impounded. If your license is suspended or your vehicle is impounded, you may have to pay fees associated with getting them returned to you, in addition to any fines you may have been charged with.
Determining Your Rate in Oregon
The Insurance Information Institute shows that the average cost for liability insurance in Oklahoma is $487, which is slightly more than the national average of $474. However, your actual rate may be different because insurance rates in Oregon are determined by numerous factors, including where you live, the type of vehicle you drive, how you use your vehicle, as well as your credit score, driving record, age, sex, and marital status. Insurance companies in Oregon will use each factor is used to determine your level of risk, which is then used to determine your rate based on how much the company decides to charge you to compensate for this risk. For example, if you live in an area with a high crime rate, have a low credit score, a poor driving record, and are younger than 25, you may be considered a high risk to insure and have to pay a higher rate.