North Carolina Car Insurance
All drivers are required to have car insurance in North Carolina. According to the North Carolina Department of Insurance’s auto insurance guide, drivers must meet the minimum coverage amounts in both liability and unisured motorist insurance. Liability insurance is designed to protect the other party involved in an accident that is your fault by covering their medical and property damage expenses. Uninsured motorist coverage will protect you if you are involved in an accident where the at-fault party doesn’t have insurance, or if you fall victim to a hit and run. Other coverage options are available, such as collision and comprehensive coverage, but these are not required by law.
Required Coverages in North Carolina:
- Bodily Injury Liability Per Person: $30,000
- Bodily Injury Liability Per Accident: $60,000
- Property Damage Liability: $25,000
Uninsured Motorist Coverage:
- Bodily Injury Coverage Per Person: $30,000
- Bodily Injury Coverage Per Accident: $60,000
- Property Damage Coverage: $25,000
According to the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles, if you are caught driving without at least the minimum amount of insurance coverage, you will be fined $50 for your first offense, $100 for your second offense, and $150 for each additional offense. Failure to pay your fine will result in the loss of your vehicle’s license plates for 30 days, after which you must pay a $50 service fee, a restoration fee, and a license plate fee to get your vehicle re-licensed.
Determining Your Rate in North Carolina
Car insurance rates in North Carolina depend on several factors, including the type of vehicle you drive, where you live, your daily commute, how old you are, your marital status, your sex, your driving record, and your credit score. Insurance companies in North Carolina use this information to determine how much of a risk you are to insure. Things like having multiple infractions on your driving record, driving a high-performance vehicle, having a long daily commute, and having a low credit score are all seen as high-risk factors and will generally lead to higher insurance rates in North Carolina.
The average cost for liability insurance in North Carolina is $371, according to the Insurance Information Institute, which also shows that the national average cost for liability insurance is $474. However, your personal rate will most likely be different from the state average because each company weighs each factor differently, which is why you find so many different prices when you compare car insurance quotes in North Carolina.
To aid you when shopping for auto insurance in North Carolina, the department of insurance offers a rate calculator. This allows you to enter in your information and then compare quotes from multiple insurance companies in North Carolina.