Missouri Car Insurance

Missouri has laws in place requiring drivers to have a certain amount of liability and uninsured motorist insurance coverage to protect themselves as well as other drivers. Liability insurance financially protects the other party in the event that you are at fault for an accident by covering all of their repair and medical costs. Uninsured motorist insurance protects you if the at-fault party doesn’t have liability insurance by covering your repair and medical costs. The Missouri Department of Revenue oversees auto insurance in Missouri and enforces the laws pertaining to minimum insurance requirements in the state.

Required Coverages in Missouri:

Liability Insurance:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Per Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability Per Accident: $50,000
  • Property Damage Liability: $10,000

Uninsured Motorist Insurance:

  • Bodily Injury Coverage Per Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury Coverage Per Accident: $50,000

If you are caught driving without at least the minimum required amount of car insurance in Missouri, your license will be suspended, after which you will have to pay a reinstatement fee to get your driver’s license back. The length of the suspension period and the cost to have it reinstated increase, depending on the number of times you have been caught driving without insurance.

Determining Your Rate in Missouri

When you compare insurance quotes in Missouri, you may wonder what information is being used to determine your rates. Insurance adjusters evaluate several factors to determine how much of a risk you are to insure. Your rate is based on their findings. Factors such as your age, sex, marital status, driving record, credit score, type of vehicle, vehicle use, and where you live are all taken into consideration. The Insurance Information Institute provides details as to how each of these are used to determine what you will have to pay for auto insurance.

According to the Insurance Information Institute, the average cost of liability insurance in Missouri is $374, which is exactly $100 less than the national average. However, your insurance rate will depend on your risk factor and what company you choose to go with. To protect yourself from fraudulent companies, the Missouri Department of Insurance provides a tool that will allow you to check the licensure status of the insurance company you are considering, as well as a tool that will allow you to review information about a company, such as how much business they conducted last year, how they rank among competitors, and if they have any violations.