Massachusetts Car Insurance

Massachusetts law requires all drivers to carry bodily injury liability, personal injury protection, property damage liability, and uninsured auto coverages. Auto insurance companies may also offer optional coverages, including increased limits for liability coverage and medical coverage, comprehensive and collision coverage to protect your car from damage, roadside assistance, accident forgiveness, and pet coverage.

Bodily injury liability financially protects you for the accidental injury or death of others in an accident for which you are at fault. Property damage financially protects you from damages to another person’s property resulting from an accident for which you are at fault. Personal injury protection pays for your medical expenses, replacement services, and 75% of your lost wages resulting from an accident, regardless of who is at fault. Insurers and agents must offer you a minimum option of required coverage set by the state of Massachusetts:

Required Coverages in Massachusetts:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Per Person: $35,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability Per Accident: $80,000
  • Property Damage Liability: $5,000

Uninsured motorist coverage, which pays for your bodily injury in the event of an auto accident where an uninsured or hit-and-run driver is responsible, has a minimum coverage of up to $35,000 per person. The Massachusetts Automobile Insurance Plan (MAIP) assigns drivers unable to obtain insurance in the voluntary market to automobile insurers on the basis of each company’s market share. Drivers without insurance or without proof of insurance risk a fine or the revocation of their license/registration.

Determining Your Rate in Massachusetts

Certain factors may not be used to underwrite or rate your policy in Massachusetts. Insurers may not use gender, marital status, race, creed, national origin, religion, age, occupation, income, education, or home ownership to determine your insurance premium. Your car insurance quote in Massachusetts is determined by your driving experience, including the number and type of at-fault accidents and traffic violations, where your vehicle is principally stored, and the number of years of experience driving.

Credit information from consumer reporting agencies may not be used for underwriting or rating. Companies may determine how your driving record will affect your premium under the Merit Rating Plan. An insurance company’s Merit Rating Plan cannot use driving history past six years or increase your premium for at-fault accidents or traffic violations for more than five years. The average expenditure for auto insurance in Massachusetts, according to the Insurance Information Institute, was $860 in 2009.