Maine Car Insurance

Maine requires every vehicle owner or operator to obtain liability insurance that covers bodily injury, property damage, and uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. A basic policy may also include collision and comprehensive coverage options. Collision coverage will pay for the physical damage to your car from a collision. Comprehensive coverage will pay for damage to your car resulting from a covered event like theft. Bodily injury liability protects you from claims for another person’s medical expenses in an auto accident for which you are liable. Property damage liability protects from claims for another’s property damages resulting from a car accident for which you are liable. Maine, like most states, requires a minimum amount of liability coverage for every driver:

Required Coverages in Maine:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Per Person: $50,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability Per Accident: $100,000
  • Property Damage Liability: $25,000

Uninsured motorist coverage is required by law to protect insured drivers involved in accidents with uninsured drivers. This covers bodily injury in the event of an auto accident. About 7% of drivers are uninsured, according to the state’s Bureau of Motor Vehicles. In the event that you are involved in an accident and cannot provide proof of insurance, an SR-22 form will certify you are covered by auto insurance. The SR-22 may be obtained from your auto insurance provider. You may then deliver theSR-22 to the insurance department in Maine if your license or registration has been suspended pending an SR-22. Drivers who cannot provide proof of insurance may be subject to a hefty fine or the suspension of their license or registration.

Determining Your Rate in Maine

Car insurance quotes in Maine are determined by information you provide insurance companies, so it’s important that while shopping around, you maintain the same information for each provider to get a fair comparison. The factors that an auto insurance provider will use to determine your rate include your driving record, your area, your age, gender, and marital status, your prior insurance coverage, your type of vehicle and its use, and your claims history and credit score. For instance, a higher annual mileage will usually result in a costlier premium because it presents a higher likelihood for claims.

Discounts may be applied to auto insurance premiums for multiple vehicles insured with the same company, driver course completion, or the installation of safety devices and anti-theft devices. A low mileage, a good driving record or renewal of an auto policy with the same insurer may also provide discounts. Maine law requires auto insurance companies to discount for liability, medical payments, and collision coverage for drivers 55 and older who have completed an approved motor vehicle accident prevention course.