Louisiana Car Insurance
The amount of coverage necessary in an auto insurance policy depends on the individual purchasing the auto insurance. A basic policy will offer bodily injury liability for expenses related to other’s injuries due to your negligence in an auto accident, and property damage liability for expenses related to the damage of another’s property resulting from your negligence in an auto accident. Personal injury protection for your own medical expenses and lost wages due to injury in an automobile accident regardless of fault may also be included.
Collision coverage and comprehensive coverage are standard options: Collision coverage pays for damage to your vehicle due to collision with another vehicle or object, and comprehensive coverage pays for damages resulting from other covered events. Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage pays if you are hit by a driver who cannot pay the full amount of your injuries and damages, or a hit-and-run driver. The Louisiana Revised Statute 32:900 requires all car owners to the carry a minimum liability auto insurance:
Required Coverages in Louisiana:
- Bodily Injury Liability Per Person: $15,000
- Bodily Injury Liability Per Accident: $30,000
- Property Damage Liability: $25,000
Failure to provide proof of insurance may cause your vehicle to be impounded immediately or for your license plates to be removed. Fines range from $75 to $100 on the first conviction, $100 to $250 on the second conviction, and up to $700 on each conviction after the first two. Louisiana’s “No Pay, No Play” law prohibits uninsured drivers from collecting the minimum liability damages regardless of who causes the accident. The Louisiana Automobile Insurance Plan is available to consumers unable to obtain auto insurance through the voluntary market, and may be requested through any insurance agent in the state of Louisiana.
Determining Your Rate in Louisiana
According to the Louisiana insurance department, several factors can affect your car insurance quote in Louisiana, including your vehicle make and model, vehicle safety features, your annual mileage, your age, gender, and marital status, income, your area of residence, your claims history, and your credit score.
A good driving record with three or more years without an accident or traffic violation may be eligible for a premium discount, as may the installation of safety features like anti-theft devices. The Insurance Information Institute reports that the average expenditure for car insurance in Louisiana was ranked the third most expensive in the United States at $1,009 in 2009. Not every company charges the same rate for coverage, so it’s recommended to shop around and compare rates for the best coverage and the best price.