Kansas Car Insurance

There are six basic coverages in an auto insurance policy: bodily injury liability, property damage liability, personal injury protection, uninsured/underinsured motorist protection, collision, and comprehensive coverage. Bodily injury liability will pay for an injured party’s medical expenses resulting from an accident where you are found to be at fault, and property damage liability will pay for another party’s property damages in the event of an accident where you are found to be at fault. Personal injury protection pays for your medical expenses and the medical expenses of your passengers, regardless of who is at fault, though passengers who have their own auto insurance collect under their own policies. Lastly, collision coverage pays for the repair of your car in a collision, while comprehensive coverage pays for damage to your automobile resulting from all other covered events. Kansas insurance law requires automobile insurance policies sold in the state to meet a minimum coverage:

Required Coverages in Kansas:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Per Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability Per Accident: $50,000
  • Property Damage Liability: $10,000

Uninsured/underinsured motorist protection reimburses you or your passengers for medical expenses, settlements or lawsuits resulting from an accident caused by an uninsured, underinsured, or hit-and-run motorist. Uninsured motorists are subject to a fine or a license/registration suspension. Kansas provides a voluntary plan, the Kansas Automobile Insurance Plan, to provide automobile liability insurance and/or automobile physical damage insurance for individuals unable to secure insurance on the private market, such as high-risk drivers.

Determining Your Rate in Kansas

When an insurance company considers your application for auto coverage, it underwrites your policy by considering your age, sex, marital status, the area you live in, your car, your driving habits and frequency, prior insurance coverage or claims history, and credit score. These factors determine your risk for an accident. Having two or more vehicles on a policy, taking a motor vehicle accident prevention course or driver education course, and possessing a good driving record can help you save on your insurance costs. In addition, the installation of anti-theft devices and maintaining a low mileage may reduce the cost or provide discounts on your car insurance. Kansas was ranked the sixth least expensive state for auto insurance in 2009, with an average auto insurance expenditure of $579, according to the Insurance Information Institute.