Georgia Car Insurance
To drive legally in the state of Georgia, all drivers must have adequate liability insurance, which protects them in the event that they are found responsible for a collision. If drivers do not have liability coverage, they will be unable to renew their license plates and register their vehicles, according to the Georgia Department of Revenue. Car insurance laws in Georgia require the following amounts of coverage:
Required Coverages in Georgia:
- Bodily Injury Liability Per Person: $25,000
- Bodily Injury Liability Per Accident: $50,000
- Property Damage Liability: $25,000
Driving without insurance is illegal, and can result in strict penalties. Vehicles must be continuously insured, according to the Department of Revenue, otherwise drivers will have their licenses suspended or revoked. Uninsured drivers will also face fines and citations. If an uninsured driver is found to be at fault for an accident, he or she will be personally responsible for any injuries or damages caused by the accident. An inability to pay may result in the driver getting sued by the other party.
Determining Your Rate in Georgia
Car insurance companies determine car insurance quotes in Georgia by taking into consideration a variety of factors. These include the age, sex, and marital status of the driver, and the make, model and year of the vehicle. Car insurance companies in Georgia also look at driving records, the history of claims made against the vehicle, and credit reports. Typically, the higher the rate of crime and past claims an area a driver lives in has, the costlier his or her insurance premium will be.
The average rate of insurance premiums for Geogia is $754, according to the Insurance Information Institute, which is close to the national average of $785. To keep insurance premiums affordable, drivers are encouraged to shop around for the best rates and inquire about discounts.