Connecticut Car Insurance
To drive legally in the state of Connecticut, drivers must have, at a minimum, liability insurance. Liability car insurance in Connecticut acts as a protection for drivers that are responsible for collisions. By having adequate insurance, drivers ensure that they do not have to pay out of pocket for all of the expenses caused by accidents for which they are at fault. According to the state’s Insurance Department, car insurance laws in Connecticut require the following:
Required Coverages in Connecticut:
- Bodily Injury Liability Per Person: $20,000
- Bodily Injury Liability Per Accident: $40,000
- Property Damage Liability: $10,000
Failure to obtain proper coverage can result in strict consequences. Drivers who operate their motor vehicles while uninsured face fines, and may also get their licenses suspended. Uninsured drivers who are found at fault for accidents may also be required to pay the full cost for the damages and injuries they have caused. If they cannot come up with the funds, the drivers risk getting sued.
Determining Your Rate in Connecticut
The Connecticut Insurance Department reports that auto insurance companies in Connecticut determine the cost of premiums by examining multiple factors. These include location, the age and type of vehicle, driving records, the vehicle’s safety features, and the deductible chosen by the consumer. Insurance companies may also check into previous insurance coverage and credit reports as well.
According to the Insurance Information Institute, the average cost of auto insurance in Connecticut is $952, which is higher than the national average of $785. The Connecticut Insurance Department recommends that drivers drive safely, maintain good credit, and shop around to get the best rates from insurance companies. Getting good grades as a student, installing safety devices, and increasing deductibles are other ways in which drivers can save on premiums.