Arkansas Car Insurance

Car insurance laws in Arkansas require drivers to have, at a minimum, liability insurance. By having automotive liability insurance, drivers protect themselves against having to pay out of pocket for any damages for which they are at fault as the result of collisions. Drivers must also have enough liability coverage for any injuries they may cause other people. In addition to purchasing liability insurance, drivers can also choose to insure themselves and their property, though that is entirely optional. According to Arkansas’ automobile insurance brochure, the required amount of coverage that drivers must have is:

Required Coverages in Arkansas:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Per Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability Per Accident: $50,000
  • Property Damage Liability: $25,000

If you drive without proof of car insurance in Arkansas, you will have to pay a fine. If you do not have adequate auto insurance in Arkansas, you risk citations, license suspension, and in extreme cases, jail time. If you do not have liability insurance and you are found responsible for a collision, you will also be personally responsible for any damages and injuries you have caused. The cost can be very expensive, and if you cannot afford to cover it, you may be sued by the other party.

Determining Your Rate in Arkansas

When determining your rate, auto insurance companies in Arkansas look at a variety of factors. These factors include the driver’s age, sex, and marital status; the age and condition of the car; the location; how much mileage the vehicle accrues; and the history of claims made against the vehicle in the past. Car insurance companies in Arkansas may also look at credit history and previous coverage before determining rates.

According to the Insurance Information Institute, Arkansas residents spend $656 on average on their insurance policies, which is cheaper than the national average of $785. The Arkansas automobile insurance brochure outlines ways in which you can keep your car insurance premiums low, including increasing your deductible, getting good grades if you are a student, and completing driver’s education classes.