Arizona Car Insurance

According to the Arizona Consumer Guide to Automobile Insurance, Arizona’s financial responsibility law requires that licensed motorists have insurance or proof of sufficient funds to pay for any damages and injuries for which they are responsible in the event of a vehicle collision. Automobile liability insurance prevents drivers from having to pay out of pocket for costs accrued from collisions. Car insurance in Arizona also offers optional policies that can protect your and your own property. Arizona state law mandates that, at a minimum, all drivers must have the following coverage:

Required Coverages in Arizona:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Per Person: $15,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability Per Accident: $30,000
  • Property Damage Liability: $10,000

If you do not have adequate liability coverage in the state of Arizona, you can face a fine of up to $1,000. In addition, your license and vehicle registration may be suspended, according to a brochure published by the state. Drivers who are uninsured are also in danger of being sued if they’re involved in any accidents for which they are responsible. And when uninsured motorists finally decide to get insurance coverage, they will face higher auto insurance quotes in Arizona due to their lapse in coverage.

Determining Your Rate in Arizona

Car insurance quotes in Arizona are determined by a variety of factors, including the age, sex, and marital status of the driver; the year, make, and model of the car; the car’s location; the collision history; the driver’s coverage history; and the amount of mileage covered by the car on a frequent basis. Car insurance companies in Arizona also look at the driver’s credit report, according to the state’s Consumer Guide.

The average rate of car insurance quotes in Arizona is $837, as stated by the Insurance Information Institute, which is more expensive than the national average of $789. Luckily, there are many discounts available to drivers. According to the state’s Consumer Guide to Automobile Insurance, these discounts are often given to drivers of multiple vehicles, good students, and drivers who have anti-theft devices installed in their vehicles. Other discounts are given to drivers who complete safety courses, maintain low mileage, or have good driving records. Check with your insurance company to see if you qualify for a discount.